From the seasoned one…

Reviews, the good, the bad and the ugly in fanfiction.

I have one rule when it comes to reviews from my fanfiction.  I thank everyone who gives me a good review and ignore the ones that complain or are rude.  Really long “reviews” telling me how I should have written my story, I won’t even bother to read beyond the first line or two.

I burned too much energy in the early days of my writing trying to justify my plots or the actions of the characters.  I finally came to the conclusion that no matter what you write or how you write it, someone won’t like it or thinks they can do better.

So today’s advice is to take the good reviews to heart, let them make you feel good and fully ignore the bad reviews or PMs.  They aren’t worth the negative energy you will burn.  Spend your time writing and enjoying the good results of your writing instead.

Leave a Reply

