From the seasoned one…

Are you a planner or a fly by the seat of your pants writer?  Personally, I’m a bit of a hybrid.  I fly by the seat of my pants most of the time and only rarely do an outline for my story.  Though, I have a tendency of making notes in the draft for things I know that I want to happen.  Some would call that outlining.  Besides the notes, I have a general idea in my head of how the story will go, but I don’t fully outline it from beginning to end before I write it.  Hence the hybrid.

It’s one of the reasons I almost never post a story on fanfiction before I’ve finished writing it.  Too many times I’ve thought of something to enhance the story, but wouldn’t be able to add it if I needed to start adding it in chapter 2, but have already posted it, making it impossible.

I’m not going to argue for or against writing by the seat of your pants versus outlining a story in advance.  I’m very much a each to their own kind of person.  What works for one, doesn’t work for another.  But it does bear thinking about.  Perhaps you outline your story in advance, but it doesn’t seem to be working for you.  Maybe you need to throw the outline out and let the muse flow and see where she takes you.

Perhaps you fly by the seat of your pants, but you’re stuck.  This might be a good time to outline at least enough of the story to see where you’re stuck or where the plot hole is that’s confounding you.

I’m curious, how do you write?  Take the poll below, you’ll see the results after you answer.

Leave a Reply

